DIY|Banish those black heads

I was just scrolling down my facebook newsfeed and I came across this one post about a DIY black head removal recipe. It’s ideal for when you run out of nose pore strips or you’re just looking for an alternative way to banish those black heads on your nose.

IMG_6143

Here’s what you’ll need: bicarbonate of soda, toothpaste and a spare toothbrush.

IMG_6167

Start off by applying luke warm water on a cotton pad and placing it on your nose for 2-3 minutes. This really helps to open up those pores and later to extract those stubborn black heads.

IMG_6144IMG_6145

IMG_6146IMG_6147

Then mix equal portions of toothpaste with bicarbonate of soda and a tiny bit of water to make the paste a little more runny.

IMG_6154

Using your toothbrush, pick up some of the paste and start brushing your nose! I would suggest doing this for a couple of minutes to really get the most out of it.

Here’s a demonstration of how I applied the paste:

Below are some before and after pictures. I don’t think the pictures do any justice, but I can surely feel the difference. Personally, I thought it was highly effective, an added bonus was that all the ingredients are easily attainable and it’s very cheap too! I will definitely be using this method more often.

Just remember everyones skin and pores work differently! Be cautious of whether this method is ideal for you. If you have sensitive skin, it can be quite harsh when you brush using rough bristles, try to be gentle or use softer bristles.

  IMG_6155IMG_6171

Have you tried this method? Or do you have any other ways of removing black heads? Let me know, would love to try out other methods!

-xo S.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Bhavika says:

    I can’t stop thinking about how much this must have stung though! Didn’t this sting on your nose?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sudi R. says:

      Hahah surprisingly it didn’t sting my nose so much, but it really made my eyes water :/

      Like

      1. Bhavika says:

        Definitely because of the toothpaste! aha. Oh well, no pain, no gain!? xD

        Like

Leave a Reply

