Beauty| The Oil Cleansing Method

What is it?

The oil cleansing method is basically a way to cleanse your face with a natural oil/ mixtures of natural oils to improve your skin condition. The method is based on the concept that chemistry explains, like dissolves like i.e. oil particles can dissolve or break down oil particles and therefore get rid of the impurities on your skin.

Does it work?

Unfortuntaley, this concept does not work on everyone.

image

For people with oily skin, the problem lies underneath the surface. The excess oil is produced by hormones, so applying oil to the surface to get rid of the oils produced by the body may only be a VERY temporary fix. The oil will still carry on producing unless you work from the inside out.

image

For dry skin, this may be a good alternative to other cleansers, which can be more drying to the skin. for best results non-fragrant oils are recommended

Have you tried it?
Yes, I have. It did nothing for me, I felt no change to the condition of my skin. Thankfully it did not break me out. If anything it just left my face feeling more greasy and I wouldn’t use this method again.

What is an alternative?

I could recommend you anything in this world but only you know your skin well enough to decide whether you’d want to try it or not. Not every product works the same on everyone. I’ve had my number of hits and misses (misses more than hits to be honest) with major cult products, and I still wonder how those products are even raved about.
This is how I am starting to understand my skin better.

What products do you use?

Personally, I like using oil free and fragrant free products because my skin is very oily, acne prone and very sensitive to almost anything.

I would recommend products from the Simple range, Lush, Kiehl and Bodyshop.

Hope this quick explanation will come join useful! Would you give this method a go?

-xo S.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Bhavika says:

    I also have this exact same oil but I have never tried using it on my face. I use it on my hair and it makes my hair very shiny after wash. Although I don’t like the fact that it makes my hair quite weightless as I really like having volume in it. As a result, I have stopped using the oil. I may start using it again on my skin since my skin can get a little dry sometimes. Thanks for your advice. I also think your pictures are really cool haha!

    Like

    1. Sudi R. says:

      I love using it on my hair! On my face however, it’s a different story. It’s so oily so it just won’t work the way I would want it to but it may work well on you! Olive oil is supposed to be good too πŸ™‚ Let me know what you think of it, if you do try this method! Haha thank you for leaving your comment! πŸ™‚

      Like

      1. Bhavika says:

        Will do πŸ™‚

        Like

  2. debyonce says:

    I prefer using it in my hair and it does wonders cause it let him more shiny and smooth. I also use oil free for my face cause I have an oily skin so I have to be extra careful with the type of products I use.

    Please check my blog debyoncelife.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

