Be You | Where are you from? ๐Ÿ‡ฑ๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง

“Where are you from?”

There are so many ways I could answer that question.

IMG_6787

IMG_6777
Our Grandparents โค๏ธ

I could tell you I’m Sri Lankan because I’m the product of two Sri Lankan parents. I may not have lived in the country to claim it as my own but it’s part of my upbringing, it’s my ancestry, it’s the core of my existence. These are my roots. This is where it all started. When I think of Sri Lanka I feel a sense of attachment and comfort. I will always identify myself as a Sri Lankan.

IMG_6778
Homies since Kindergarten: First day of school ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ช

I could tell you I’m from Germany. I was born in Germany and spent 11years of my childhood there. This is where I took my first steps. This is where I fell off my bike and chipped a tooth. This is where I fell in love with anime. This is where I hiked through heaps and heaps of snow to get to school. And this is where I developed my first ever crush at the age of 9 toward blonde hair, blue eyed Serafin (sat next to me). I’m a German national and I consider Germany to be my first home.

wpid-1931538_191934580231_832120_n.jpg

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

I could tell you I’m from London because I have spent 14 years building a home, a trusty network of friends and a life otherwise unimaginable. This is what I know life to be as. This place has seen me grow from being an anxious little girl who could barely speak the language. It’s seen me through the awkward teenage phase making questionable wardrobe decisions, surviving ย peer pressure at uni, facing heartbreaks and hardships and the stress of being a young adult. And finally becoming a woman the younger me would be proud of.

If I had to choose one place to call my home I would be at loss.

So, if you ask me where I’m from don’t expect a simple answer.

IMG_6491

Who I am, what I see, where I live and whoย I speak with makes me what I am. With things constantly changing who knows where you’ll find me next.

If you ask me where I’m from I would ask you to clear your schedule because you are in for a story ๐ŸŒธ

signature

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Wonderfully written. Identity and geography is never simple.

    I also explore my relationship to the city I was born and continue to live in on my blog through a series called ‘City Diaries’. If you have a spare moment, this is the link: https://sassyfrombirth.wordpress.com/2017/04/08/city-diaries-of-saints-and-hawkers/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sudi R. says:

      Thank you so much for reading!

      That sounds like an interesting read will definitely check it out ๐Ÿ˜Š

      Liked by 1 person

  2. ajana2804 says:

    I can relate to this so well! Totally understand how you feel ๐Ÿ™‚ xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sudi R. says:

      ๐Ÿ™Œ๐Ÿฝ thank you for reading ๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ’•

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

